Total beginner here, need tutorials and basics of Linux and Manjaro

Hi! I just installed Manjaro because I want to learn to use Linux distro simmilar to Arch. With that said, I don’t know a thing about It, really. So, where to start with learning?

3 Likes

The wiki is here:
wiki.manjaro.org

5 Likes

I have A tun of bookmarks of helpful sites
I love the
The Linux COMMAND LINE 5TH Ed online
find the active site for endless tutorials, all great…!
I will post them as soon as I can, I am brand new here too.

1 Like

It would be helpful to know what your first goal is. Is it to become adept at the commandline and all “system internals”, or do you rather need a broader introduction about which component does what, or do you need an intro about how to use a desktop environment or window manager, or do you want to get some specific applications (for a specific purpose) or some Windows games running, or do you need tips for alternatives to some Win/OSX software, or…
If you don’t narrow it down just a little bit, it’s hard to recommend where to start, so you’ll just get very generic recommendations probably.

your preferred search engine is the place to start.
manjaro is arch, not similar, so you can search both manjaro & arch.
it helps if you narrow down what you want to do, just pick something & have at it.
if ya get stuck, ask questions, but try & be a little more detailed/specific about the problem.

You know… OP has not connected since January… And this thread is from December.

2 Likes

I was watching mental outlaw
he really motivated me to just bite the bit and start running up that steep beginners learning curve,
after 7 months I no longer feel just
F-_-ing lost like I’m never going to get it then last month after spending 2 -3 weeks with just a blue screen with a mouse Icon on it.

I realized I had changed a setting and lost my Panel and desktop.
A classic TLCL 5 edition by William Shotts
Download LinuxCommand from SourceForge.net
tons of great links…!