Terminal Vs. IDE

Hi Guys !! I started using Manjaro OS since only 1 month. And I like Manjaro so much.
Now coming to my point,

Executing Programs using Terminal Vs. IDE

• I want to know that is it better to execute/run programs via Terminal is better or via an IDE is better ? and explain with your reason for preferring it.
  • What are the downsides of using the Terminal to execute/run programs ?
  • What are the downsides of using an IDE ?
  • Which one would you prefer to a Novice, who has some experience in programming, but is enthusiastic in learning new things with interest ( programming ) ?
  • Which is less hasty and easy to write and execute programs ? ( Omit this point : To use Terminal, we know that we should write the codes, in a text file and execute it. )

I would like know your opinions and debates on this topic.
I am a Novice to Linux and enthusiastic to more about this.
Thanks

Terminal using vi. Because that’s what Ken Thompson and Dennis Richie intended. Anything else is heresy. Including EMACS. Especially EMACS.

3 Likes

console vs gui ? gui editor is not always IDE
for which language?

the only downsides of IDE is that they take more resources

3 Likes

Code-editor and Terminal here.
I am using vs code (you could argue that with all those extensions that are available it comes close to be a fully fledged IDE rather than just a code editor though) to write code and then use the integrated terminal a lot there as well.

Depends on the language as well though.

2 Likes

@papajoke

I asked in general. So, you can state your views for any Programming Language for that matter.

I am a Novice :sweat_smile: :sweat_smile: so can you explain me what is the difference between these 2 ? I guess, GUI Editor has GUI elements to make coding simpler ? :thinking: