Switching graphic cards on Manjaro KDE 21.0

I have read a manjaro wiki of how to use DRI_PRIME=0, or 1 for using a specific card on the go, but I want a drop down menu of selecting intel, nvidia and hybrid mode on the go withou having to reboot?
I am a newbie here, but my laptop’s battery suffers as it is showing intel graphics in systems menu but nvidia card is also running.

Also, if I try to install video-nvidia using hardware configuration gui, it shows a error message: Starting
Error: config ‘video-nvidia’ conflicts with config(s): video-hybrid-intel-nvidia-prime

I think GitHub - Askannz/optimus-manager: A Linux program to handle GPU switching on Optimus laptops. with GitHub - Shatur95/optimus-manager-qt: An interface for Optimus Manager that allows to switch GPUs on Optimus laptops. is the solution you’re looking for :slight_smile:

Also the reason you get the error is because you can’t install 2 nvidia drivers at once.
You would have to uninstall video-hybrid-intel-nvidia-prime first. but since you wanna be able to select the one you use, keep the current driver.

1 Like

I have seen that pop os gives a functionality to start an application when clicked on the right button of the mouse, the option to launch with dedicated graphics card,

So, I looked on the manjaro wiki and found that I can launch an app from terminal that uses my dedicated graphics card using prime-run , but my knowledge to start app from terminal is low, as I am learning now.

So, can you please suggest how to enable the feature in the right click button menu. My last resort will be to use the optimus manager and log out then in to use my nvidia card, but if it would be great if this feature is implemented
]

Oh i know what you mean. I remember that from when i used Pop_os.
I found this extention for the Gnome desktop environment. GNOME Run With PRIME - GNOME Shell Extensions
It does exactly what you want :slight_smile: I hope that works!

1 Like