Swapfile and RAM

• I’ve been using Manjaro as My daily drive OS for 6 months now, and I will buy a laptop within two days.
    the laptop has built-in 8 GB RAM, so I can’t upgrade it.
  • usually, I use less than 8 GB of RAM but sometimes I use more than 8 GB, but not exceeding 10 GB

Can I use a 10GB swap file on the SSD to solve the RAM problem?

• I searched for if the swapfile will damage the SSD, and I found that it’s not that harmful, is that true?
  • please help me make the decision because the purchase will be ensured tomorrow and I can buy the 16GB version
1 Like

Personally I’d just go for the 16GB one.

However, if for whatever reason, that’s not possible, 8GB, with say another 8GB in swap should be fine.

The reason why it’s not optimal to use an SSD for SWAP is because an SSD has a limited number of read/writes for it’s lifetime, which should be fine for almost everyone. But SWAP puts extra strain on the drive because it’s extra reads & writes.

But you can adjust the swappiness to be less active, which is better for an SSD.

2 Likes

I think, in the long run you will thank yourself for paying the litte bit more for the 16GB version.

7 Likes

Not as limited as some believe. My oldest SSD is ~10+ years old and has always had swap, it’s outlasted any HDD I’ve had (mostly because I don’t trust them after ~7+ years).

If I were you I’d go for the 16GB and 10GB swap on SSD.

2 Likes

Probably depends on the quality and/or brand then.

And yeah, I’ve had my latest SSD for ±2 years now, and if I’m correct, it’s 4% used:

Percentage Used:                    4%
2 Likes

I have two laptops, one is about 2014 era and the other 2018. They both have reasonable specs for their age and both have 4gb ram. I also created an equivilante size swap partition on both, as the norm when installing. I have yet to see either one of these machines use the swap. I also don’t allow them to suspend or hibernate. There either on or off.

2 Likes

Sounds like me.

2 Likes