Stuck at UBUNTU: clean

Hi,
I’m new to this forum and I’m a noob when it comes to computers, I thank in advance everybody who’s willing to help me saving my laptop.
Yesterday I did a pacman -Syu and today I found out that when the laptop is booted, it gets stuck and says the following thing:

UBUNTU: clean, 563971/3022848 files, 11480375/12086272 blocks

I’m able to login into TTY but I don’t know what to do with it. The laptop we’re talking about is a relatively old macbook with Manjaro only, the graphics card is Intel Iris Graphics 6100.
I’ve some important uni files there that I can’t lose :frowning: Thank you for your help!

These things cannot be related.

pacman is an Arch/Manjaro command.

Ubuntu is … a different linux distro entirely.

So … was this some sort of multiboot situation?

Are you sure? Did you previously try ubuntu and left its Grub installed or something of the sort?

Upon some further thought … I suppose its possible you either installed some package or executed some command that would have created ‘UBUNTU’ in the output … but it would have to be some rather specific things.

With a normal manjaro boot this output would come from fsck check and look something like this:

Jan 19 18:06:09 manjaro systemd-fsck[198]: Manjaro: clean, 1375735/24739840 files, 46371240/98933777 blocks

(including the timestamp etc)

boot from a live USB , copy off your uni files. now you can either fix your problem without fear of losing anything important.

should I choose usb boot option from BOOT OPTIONS in the Grub? And if so, how can I do it? I’m sorry for eventual misuses of words

What @fbt89 explained is to enter your firmware and select the USB boot option from there when the stick with the live ISO is connected.

1 Like

to add to that:
… just like you did when you first installed Manjaro onto that device