Strange Leafpad behavior

Hello! I’ve been using Manjaro (KDE) for a few months and it’s been great so far. One of the things I searched for a lot when I switched from windows was a notepad clone. I found Leafpad, and it’s pretty much a one to one clone of it. It is however, very old and hasn’t been updated in years. I’ve noticed a couple of strange behaviors when using it, and I wanted to see if anybody else was having them or if there are any fixes available.

1. When I open a file in leafpad and copy text out of it, it doesn’t stay copied after the file is closed. I have to keep the file open to copy anything out of it into another program. (Like copying from a text file into Fire Fox.)

2. When clicking on the pinned task bar icon, I have to open and close the program multiple times for it to show up as open on the task bar. It’s very unpredictable how many times I’ll have to do this. It is opening, but not showing it’s open and active on the task bar.

I don’t know if these are just bugs in the program or the result of using old software on a modern os.
If anybody is curious why I’m using such an ancient text editor, I have ADHD, and a super simple editor like leafpad helps me get my thoughts and ideas out quickly without any distractions. Kate is fine, but it’s not simple enough for me, so I’m trying to get leafpad to behave correctly.

If anybody has any ideas on how to fix these issues I’d really appreciate it. Thanks!

mh… here is a perfect notepad clone:

pamac install wine
wine notepad

Yeah leafpad is old and uses GTK2, which is almost dead. Use it as long as it works.

Hm maybe focuswriter is a good app in this case:

pamac install focuswriter

It is pretty nice and distraction free in fullscreen mode.

1 Like

I’d check out mousepad. If I remember correctly it was built as and updated replacement for leafpad.