Start job is running for a network device that does not exist

Hi everyone,

first of all I am a beginner and may have messed some stupid things up somewhere, so I hope I have not broken something completely obscure but anything is possible.

My problem is that while booting, I get a start job is running for /sys/subsystem/net/devices/eth0 , which times out after 90 seconds and makes for a very long boot. I’ve looked around for similar problems and the only thing I found was to disable the dhcpcd service for this device, or to look around in the etc/systemd/system folder for anything suspicious.

However I could not find anything related to the name eth0 anywhere I looked, be it a dhcpcd service, a device name on ip addr or in any config files or folder names I checked. So I’m guessing the start job is waiting for a device that does not exist? My ethernet network interface is called eno2 .
Basically, I don’t even know how to look for a solution here.

What is the output of

systemctl status dhcpcd@interface_name

?

Hi @LinieKiste :wink:

Could you open a terminal and type:

systemd-analyze blame

and

systemd-analyze critical-chain

and post it here as code? That way you should see which service is running so long at booting.

How to format code

~~~
paste the code here
~~~
or
```
paste the code here
```

I’m assuming you mean dhcpcd@eth0 in this case, but I did it with the literal “interface_name” as well and they both returned something like this:

Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/dhcpcd@.service; disabled; vendor >
    Active: inactive (dead)```

systemd-analyze blame gives me this:

2.121s updatedb.service                                                         
 739ms lvm2-monitor.service                                                     
 675ms man-db.service                                                           
 643ms dev-nvme0n1p3.device