Some questions from an Ubuntu user

Hello people,
I don’t know if I am at the right place in the “Non-technical question”, but I will try anyway. I have some minor questions asking in a bit of fear before doing something stupid.

I have used Ubuntu for 10 years (I love Gnome!), but I want to change from it. I got Manjaro as a recommendation very often and I have tried it in a virtual box. I seem to like it a lot.

I am a programmer and I know how to compile programmes, however, I love to have a stable system which isn’t bothering me at all with weird bugs and fixing due to problems happening after updates.

So even though I like Manjaro, I am still unsure if this is the right system, because I am a bit in fear of the rolling updates destroying anything when I need it.
I am not interested in debugging my computer to make graphic cards work again or stuff like that :slight_smile:

So I tried Arch and didn’t like it because one needs to configure every single thing, but it seems like Manjaro is a nice trade off?

I have of course read a lot of articles about that, but I somehow didn’t make up my mind on that.

Any opinions?

How stable are your systems? Do you use a lot of time fixing stuff?

My main purpose of using my computer is actually programming and gaming (yes, I play on Linux, but it worked fine with Steam and Ubuntu). I used btrfs on Ubuntu. I love Gnome. (which looks even better on Manjaro than on Ubuntu)

Many thanks for any answer! :slight_smile:

I’m not a Linux super user. Very, very rarely do I have issues come up that cause a serious issue. They’re almost always my fault for trying to tweak something that was working fine before.

The community forum is a great resource for getting help. If I can’t find the issue already, people have been willing to help me.

The slower releases from Arch give us a pretty good buffer from system breaking problems. Just check the forum post for big new releases to see if there are any issues before you update.

3 Likes