[Solved] Sudo stops working after a few minutes, [Unsolved] pamac "error: package was not found"

Hello,

I’ve been using Manjaro Cinnamon since March 2020 with no problems.

I now made a fresh installation of Manjaro Cinnamon minimal ISO and have a weird problem:

After startup sudo works normally. However, after about 5 minutes it stops working. If i trigger a window that prompts me for my password e.g. pamac or timeshift, my password is not accepted and below the entry field it says “time left to unlock x minutes” and it is counting down from i think initially 10 minutes. The countdown is already in progress at this time (so sometimes it is down to 2 minutes already when the window is triggered), so the countdown doesn’t start when i trigger the window but is already triggered by something else beforehand. After the countdown is finished, sudo works normally again and accepts my password.

Also, maybe related to this issue, i can’t install packages with pacman. Updating, Querying and removing installed packages works fine, however if i -Syu or -Q a package that is not already installed it says e.g. “error: package ‘kdenlive’ was not found”. Strangely, pacman reports that all packages are up-to-date:

sudo pacman -Syu
:: Synchronizing package databases…
core is up to date
extra is up to date
community is up to date
multilib is up to date
:: Starting full system upgrade…
there is nothing to do

Pamac works fine and i can install packages with the GUI and the CLI.

I am at a loss for what to do and reinstalled Manjaro twice but always got the same results. As i mentioned, Manjaro worked fine for me with my previous install from March 2020.

Do you have an idea what might be the cause for this behaviour?

Sort your mirrors first… ie:

sudo pacman-mirrors -f && sudo pacman -Syyu

Wrt the timeout of sudo, check your configuration in /etc/sudoers, see this article that might help with that, or some other related search results.