Should I even bother trying nonfree drivers

I have a rather old card, a GTX 560 Ti, attempting to boot from a usb drive causes the installer to enter an infinite loop. Free drivers seem to work fine but I wanted to see if there was a difference once I started up a game.

https://i.postimg.cc/CFqszjRj/fa69facd-0bb7-4a64-9417-81c1b57e96ec.jpg

I always see people on reddit saying how they don’t work very well. So I guess my question is how good is Nouveau compared to Nvidia drivers for different generations of cards?

Also will you be buying Nvidia, AMD, or Intel graphics when you upgrade and why?

Thanks and cheers

I am not competent enough to speak about which drivers to use, but I got so tired of my Nvidia graphics card (and the drivers and the screen tearing) that I replaced it with an AMD card instead. And my new computer is pure AMD, both CPU and GPU, and it works fantastic.

I’m no expert in graphics cards, nor in the comparison between AMD and Nvidia. If you spend some time with your favourite search engine, you can find an almost endless supply of comparisons, articles and reviews of the various bits of hardware available in the market. It’s a good start to understand the differences between the hardware itself.

For me:
I have a GL504GS laptop, it comes with the integrated Intel graphcis and a Nvidia RTX 2060 discrete graphics.

First, The Intel integrated graphics is intended to be for everyday use (desktop, web browser, etc) and it is tuned that way – it does just fine for that work at a low power envelope.

Second, The Nvidia card works well and takes a bit of fiddling to get working properly – but there are also many guides in the forum and on the wiki on how to do this. The nonfree drivers increase the performance significantly enough over the free drivers that I run the non-free.