Screen problems with KDE Plasma

Hello, I’m new to Manjaro as I installed it on my computer a couple days ago and I’ve been experiencing some problems with one of my screens. I use 2 screens on extend, one new one that works perfectly and is set as my primary and one slightly older one.(Display port on new and HDMI on old)

I noticed that sometimes when I boot my computer, the login screen works fine, I sign in, the loading screen finishes loading and then it switches to a black screen, on which I can’t interact or open any TTY terminals. If I force shutdown my computer and then remove the old screen and start it up it works fine, and when I connect the screen after it started it turns on fine.

Also whenever the secondary screen is on, it keeps flickering in a weird way making it really blurry and hard to read. the movement seems to be vertical so I don’t think it’s screen tearing but I could be wrong. It’s worth mentioning that I’m using an NVIDIA GTX 1050Ti with nouvaeu which was installed automatically I guess.
When I lower the resolution, the problem seems to mostly go away (but the aspect ratio and resolution difference is very annoying so I’d rather not do that long term) and when I lower the refresh rate from 60 to 50Hz it gets a lot worse. I’m thinking it could be a v-sync issue but I tried messing with the settings to no avail. Should I try installing other drivers?
I should note that I tried switching primaries and trying each screen on its own and nothing changes.

I haven’t found any similar issues online and any remotely related ones weren’t particularly helpful so I’d appreciate some help or hints about this! I’m not sure what other system information I should provide so please let me know.