Running Filesystem Check on LUKS encrypted root partition (fsck)

Hello,

after resuming from Hibernation, my system crashed once. Since then it seems there are some issues on the file system. Like when I try to clean the Trash in the shell, I receive the following error on two files:

rm: cannot remove '/home/vommie/.local/share/Trash/files/examplefile': Structure needs cleaning

When I try to access the Trash with Dolphin, the file manager freezes.

So I thought I should try to run fsck. I am quite new to Linux so I googled a lot and I did not found a solution to do so without having to fear I destroy my installation as my system partition is encrypted with LUKS. All settings doing so were set by the Manjaro installer.

I found out Manjaro seems to run fsck by default on boot if in the fstab the 6th parameter is set to “1”, which is it by default for my root partition:

/dev/mapper/luks-ID / ext4 defaults,noatime 0 1
(replaced the id with “ID”)

So I tried to find a log for fsck and found this command:

journalctl -b --no-pager | grep fsck

After running, I see there are a lot of errors and a recommendation to run e2fsck:

[lappie vommie]# journalctl -b --no-pager | grep fsck Jan 25 11:32:04 lappie kernel: EXT4-fs (dm-0): warning: mounting fs with errors, running e2fsck is recommended Jan 25 11:32:04 lappie kernel: EXT4-fs (dm-0): warning: mounting fs with errors, running e2fsck is recommended Jan 25 11:32:04 lappie systemd[1]: Created slice system-systemd\x2dfsck.slice. Jan 25 11:32:04 lappie systemd-fsck[560]: fsck.fat 4.1 (2017-01-24) Jan 25 11:32:04 lappie systemd-fsck[560]: /dev/nvme0n1p1: 6 files, 120/76646 clusters Jan 25 11:32:04 lappie audit[1]: SERVICE_START pid=1 uid=0 auid=4294967295 ses=4294967295 msg='unit=systemd-fsck@dev-disk-by\x2duuid-AA2B\x2dAE1D comm="systemd" exe="/usr/lib/systemd/systemd" hostname=? addr=? terminal=? res=success' Jan 25 11:37:08 lappie kernel: EXT4-fs (dm-0): error count since last fsck: 18470