RockPro64 can't connect to video projector

Hello guys,

I’ve a RockPro64 running on Manjaro Plasma that I bought especially to be connected to a VGA video projector. However the video projector seems not to detect a device is plugged.

With my Nintendo Switch I have to manually go into the settings, lower the resolution, plug the switch to the video projector then set the higher resolution back and I’m good to go, the image shows up with a nice resolution on my wall.

With my Windows laptop I don’t have any issues.

I tried to install xrandr on the RockPro64 and ssh to it while being connected to the video projector however when type the xrandr command it says can't open display.

Do you have any idea how to fix this issue and make Manjaro auto detect the correct resolution for my video projector? I can’t find anything on Google.

Thanks for your answers

PS: I’m a software developer but a Linux beginner, so please bear with me if this requires complicated tweaking :grin:
Thanks !

The RockPro64 does not have a VGA output. So how are you connecting it?

VGA over USB-C might not work.

HDMI to VGA adapter

What resolution is the projector?
The RockPro64 HDMI port assumes 1080p, as that’s what it outputs.

The resolution is 800x600 (projector reference: OPTOMA DS211).

Is there a way to force the HDMI port to lower the default resolution?
I really hope so otherwise my brand new RockPro64 would useless to me (or I would have to buy a new video projector)

Thanks for your answer

Note that I already tried while the RockPro64 was connected to an HDMI screen to lower the default resolution using the Manjaro Settings Manager. Then I plugged it to the video projector but it didn’t work. I guess doing what I did just lower the resolution for a specific screen but once it’s connected to the video projector it just comes back to 1080p.