I was testing the command groupadd in Manjaro xfce and I created some groups with the two users of my computer.
Now I need to delete a group but I also need to conserve the users, which belong to other groups.
I found the command
Is there a risk that this command will also delete the users?
Thank you in advance for the answers.
Never done this, but I’d recommend the
delgroup command, instead.
Remove a group
If deluser is called with the –group option, or delgroup is called, a group will be removed.
Warning: The primary group of an existing user cannot be removed.
If the option –only-if-empty is given, the group won’t be removed if it has any members left.
No - removing a group is not removing a user.
Removing a group may affect what a user is allowed to do or has access to.
What @linux-aarhus said then
Thank you very much for the answer. It was very helpful!
This topic was automatically closed 15 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.