Random keys do not work on inbuilt laptop keyboard

Hello all,

I’ve been running Manjaro on a Lenovo IdeaPad Flex 5 for roughly 9 months and so far it has been running smoothly. Recently, a large number of seemingly random keys on my inbuilt laptop keyboard have stopped working. The following letter keys do not work: h,e, w, n, x, j, u, m, s, d, y. When I run xev, the keys that still work produce the expected response and the keys that are malfunctioning do not produce any response. I am currently using an external keyboard and this is fine for now, but after a bit of digging I am unable to find any other posts/forums where someone has had a similar problem. I am not sure if this is a hardware problem or if something is wrong with my installation and I would appreciate any insights.

2 Likes

If it’s a laptop I’m pretty much sure that’s a hardware problem.
My laptop keyboard is same not working some keys.
Use external keyboard.

If you need ur laptop keyboard better go to repair shop :slight_smile:

It is

This is a model which can rotate 360 - right? Be careful with the keyboard when using the device in tablet mode.

Probably the keys got stuck - I saw a somewhat similar topic on lenovo support - and this is going to sound stupid - but who knows if it works or the author was just lucky - press and hold the power button until it powers off - repeat this a number of times until the keyboard resets.