Question about USB DAC and pipewire

I have an IFI hip dac plugged in to my laptop with pipewire. I am seeing two output devices. First is Analog Output HD USB Audio — Analog Stereo Output. The other one is Digital Output (S/PDIF) HD USB Audio — Digital Stereo (IC958) Output. Both of these have sound. I’m wondering which is the correct choice to get the best possible sound from my DAC.

I’ve done some searches and there’s been some conflicting information. Some accepted solutions say that picking Digital Output bypasses the laptop’s built-in DAC and sends the digital signal to the external DAC directly without any processing, but I’m not sure if that’s correct. I’ve read the Pipewire FAQ (FAQ · Wiki · PipeWire / pipewire · GitLab) but it’s not much help, or maybe I just don’t get it since I’m new to Linux audio.

Tl;dr which of these two is the “correct” and better sounding option for a DAC connected through USB: Analog Output or Digital Output? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I was about to start a similar thread. @colopatiron , did you figure out the answer?
I was similarly confused by web searches.

This DAC does not have a jack socket or optical input to connect to S/PDIF output from onboard audio
Specifications on vendor’s website show the device has only a digital input connection via USB that will always bypass the onboard audio device

Specifications show only 2 analog headphone outputs and no mention of any form of digital output
The Analog Output profile would be the correct terminology, but I would expect that if both profiles use the same same USB connection and headphone output connection there may be no difference in the signal path through the device and no difference in audio quality

PulseAudio and PipeWire both use the same configuration files for creating audio device profiles so switching sound servers would probably make no difference