Python2-pycparser update failing

While running pacman updates google-chrome, python2-attrs, & python2-pycparser fail to install ends with:>

`> FAIL: test_all_examples (tests.test_examples.TestExamplesSucceed)

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/var/tmp/pamac-build-bob/python2-pycparser/src/pycparser-release_v2.21/tests/test_examples.py”, line 29, in test_all_examples
rc, 0, ‘example “{}” failed with stdout =\n{}’.format(filename, stdout))
AssertionError: example “using_cpp_libc.py” failed with stdout =

Ran 130 tests in 1.064s

FAILED (failures=1)
==> ERROR: A failure occurred in check().
Aborting…`

(As you can see, this is the “traceback”. If you need to see all of it, let me know.)

This started a couple weeks ago. Since then there has been a major update. I thought the major update might resolve the issue but no, it did not.

Been using Linux for many, many years however I am a newbie when it comes to Manjaro. Been using it for about a year. I really like the rolling updates.

So, any suggestions on what I can do to correct this?

None of these packages that you mention are essential.
And none of these is even in the Manjaro repositories
Those are all packages installed from the AUR - and it is not pacman that you used to install those but perhaps pamac.

If you just want to update you can remove these packages (temporarily)
and deal with rebuilding them later.

Google-chrome is not responsible for the failure, but some of the python stuff …
perhaps you don’t even need it anymore?

Just approach them one at a time, instead of all at once.
I’m sure google-chrome will install but one or more of the python2 packages will not.

See the pinned comment on the AUR page.

1 Like

I’m not using chrome, but i have same issue here with python2-pycparser 2.21-1
here is pamac output:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/var/tmp/pamac-build-mody/python2-pycparser/src/pycparser-release_v2.21/tests/test_examples.py", line 29, in test_all_examples