PyCharm fails to use the correct pinentry binary

Hi everyone,

I had some issues with PyCharm and GPG signing from the IDE.
Specifically, I had to solve by creating the ~/.gnupg/gpg-agent.conf file and then appending pinentry-program /usr/bin/pinentry-gnome3, restarting the gpg-agent with gpg-connect-agent reloadagent /bye and I was on my way.

It looks like, by default, gpg-agent does not point to the correct pinentry binary for the installed DE (in my case GNOME3).

Is this by design? Would it make sense to setup a default binary in this way for a fresh installation?

I have been using their products since many years with no issues.

You would have to confer with Jetbrains.

While the community editions is installable using the repo - those are not created by Manjaro but inherited from Arch.

To avoid issues on Manjaro - install their products using Jetbrains Toolbox app - it’s an selfinstalling app-image you can download from their web.

I meant: is by Manjaro design that there is no default pinentry binary set in the gpg-agent conf file?

I’ve installed as you suggested PyCharm using their toolbox on multiple independent machines and I’ve had to touch that file each time.

There has never been any need to set a default pin entry maybe I should say change the default pinentry.

I only remember having had to set it on a system and that was caused when having ssh-session to a remote server which also has a desktop installed - then the pinentry didn’t work when signing commits using the shell.

I consider that an edge case and not one would need for normal operation.

@psing

As I couldn’t quite understand your issue - I decided to test what you mean and I can produce a similar issue on a fresh Gnome with PyCharm Community. The solution is only one click away from the IDE.

Summary

Configure the environment → Linux tab

Set up GPG support