PS4 controller not working after latest system updates

I’ve been using Manjaro for about 10 months. I’ve been solving all my problems on my own, but I just can’t figure this one out. After about 604 package updates today, my PS4 controller stopped working

it shows up under lsusb

udevadm monitor --environment --udev
does show activity when I plug in the controller

Steam can’t find the controller. other programs can’t find the controller.

I can get the analog sticks to respond only in wine control joy.cpl

jstest-gtk shows nothing

I tried another usb cable, but no change

the controller works on my Playstation 4.

I won’t be surprised if I’m missing something simple, but any ideas what’s going on? How do I fix this?

EDIT: Somehow, Wine is causing this?! The controller seems to work fine after boot. It stops working when i open something with Wine. :frowning_face: Any ideas?

It’s working fine with games in Lutris with Wine and Steam with Proton. but ChatLoggerJS somehow kills the controller input. opening notepad does the same thing.

I tried uninstalling and reinstalling wine, winetricks, and protontricks. No luck. Controller input is still stolen by the default wine prefix. I tried wiping the prefix. No luck.

Did you try to use special software to plug-in your controller? If no, try to use ds4drv. It can probably help you.

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/ds4drv

1 Like

I don’t think it’s doing anything…

I was getting evdev and pyudev modulenotfound errors, so i installed them with pip. I don’t know if it was a good idea, but it worked. And now…

ds4drv --hidraw 

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/grayfox/anaconda3/bin/ds4drv", line 33, in <module>
    sys.exit(load_entry_point('ds4drv==0.5.1', 'console_scripts', 'ds4drv')())
  File "/home/grayfox/anaconda3/lib/python3.9/site-packages/ds4drv/__main__.py", line 132, in main
    options = load_options()