Problems installing Proton

Hey there,
I’m rather new to Arch - using Manjaro.

Trying to install Proton using

yay -S proton 

I’ve received a few errors, however I managed to fix most by googleing and reading mans.

For this one however I’m probably missing something obvious but I cant for the life of me find the solution. Maybe you might be able to help me out - already appreciate your help!
Following code snippet is from the end of the failed installation.

touch /home/leon/.cache/yay/proton/src/build/.vkd3d-source
touch /home/leon/.cache/yay/proton/src/build/.vkd3d-post-source
:: autoreconfing vkd3d...
cd "/home/leon/.cache/yay/proton/src/build/src-vkd3d" && autoreconf -fiv
autoreconf: export WARNINGS=
autoreconf: Entering directory '.'
autoreconf: configure.ac: not using Gettext
autoreconf: running: aclocal --force -I m4
Can't exec "aclocal": No such file or directory at /usr/share/autoconf/Autom4te/FileUtils.pm line 274.
autoreconf: error: aclocal failed with exit status: 2
make[1]: *** [../proton/Makefile.in:584: /home/leon/.cache/yay/proton/src/build/.vkd3d-pre-configure] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/leon/.cache/yay/proton/src/build'
make: *** [../proton/Makefile.in:1212: dist] Error 2
==> ERROR: A failure occurred in build().
    Aborting...
 -> error making: proton-exit status 4
 -> Failed to install the following packages. Manual intervention is required:
proton - exit status 4

Thank you again.

1 Like

I don’t think you want the AUR proton, that is what YAY is listing and trying to install for you.

Proton is included in f.ex steam, or if you install wine or lutris IIRC.
There is also a pretty neat protontricks package that allows you to edit the “prefix”.

Install whatever sofware you are planning to use proton with and I think that should be it.

vkd3d is also in the Manjaro repos.
Make sure mirrors are up to date and:

sudo pacman -S vkd3d

And if you also want the 32 bit libraries install lib32-vkd3d