Pinephone / PineTime reconnect script

Hey folks, I was having issues with my PineTime reconnecting to my Pinephone after waking up from suspend. I noticed when I would cycle bluetooth on and off eventually it would re-connect.

Arch wiki showed me a neat way to run a script on wake every time. I started playing with that and got a decent working reconnect script. I have tested it for a few days and now am curious if it will work well for other people using the PineTime with the PInePhone

setup:
PinePhone 3gb running Manjaro-Arm
PineTime running InfiniTime 1.7.0
Amazfish as the companion app

Here is the github with instruction and the script that will take your PineTime BT mac address and make a small shell script for connecting and a systemd service to fire that script any time the PinePhone wakes from suspend. It is enabled to start on boot and requires a restart of both PT and PP after the script is done.

I recognize this is probably not the best way to fix my reconnect issues but it seems to work for now and I am certainly open to suggestions if anyone thinks there is a better way to do this.

I did not get much feedback on the Pine64 forums, I bet not a lot of people are using the PineTime with the PinePhone or maybe others are not having the connectivity issues I am. Either way would love to see if this works for anyone else.

1 Like

Looks nice! I don’t have a PineTime, but I’m interested in the code for the dependency of the timer on wake.
Do you know whether it’s possible to condition a timer to do the opposite: run on suspend rather than on wake?

EDIT: for some context, I’d love to be able to improve my code to wake-up the Pinephone with a timer that runs on suspend and a service that stops it on wake.

You can use it for suspend but it will run a command just prior to suspend, to wake once in suspend I believe you will need a systemd timer which is what it looks like you are using.

Here is what I used for mine straight from the arch wiki;