Password required to use partition

Hi, everyone

skippable self-introduction xD
I’m new to manjaro, and to Linux in general. Just installed it on this crappy office laptop, since I coudn’t resolve the grub issue that was only affecting PopOS, and I didn’t really like Mint cos it didn’t support some of the software I like. I have Zorin on an old WinXP PC, and had PopOS on my main PC before that drive died.

Anyway, back to the point. Partition I’m using for personal files requires me to enter admin password every time I want to access it, copy/paste files etc. I don’t understand why (it’s not encrypted).

My idea was to upgrade my acc to root. I don’t see any way of upgrading my acc status in the setting like I had on Zorin. It only offers me to create another acc, which I don’t really like the idea of.

Also, is it even wise to upgrade myself to root, or is there another way to resolve this issue with the partition? This slows me down too much.

screenshot (just add dot before com, since it appears forum doesn’t allow embeds not links)–> tinyurlcom/image3312

This usually happens happens if you mount it through the GUI.
If you mount it with correct permisions through fstab and make sure your user is the owner, you shouldn’t have these issues.
What filesystem is on the drive? ext4, xfs, ntfs?

No. It is not wise.
Your user account is part of the wheel group, which means it’s part of the admin user group. That should be sufficient enough for all the tasks you need to do.

2 Likes

Hi, thanks for replying

It’s ext4, was that a mistake? Should (and can I) reformat it?

Would it be too much to ask how does one do that?

If you reuse a partition from another Linux system or you have created on from scratch you need to ensure the correct permissions.

The best approach to mounting disk devices is to use systemd

2 Likes

This is true.
However, there’s a nooby shortcut. I always used gnome-disks to set my disk mounts up.
gnome-disks is a friendly gui…