Password for sudo not working once in a while

I am seeing a very strange behavior on my manjaro system

once in a while (every couple of weeks) the password of my main user does not work any longer spontaneously.

This happens in the cli when trying to execute any command via sudo. First u think of a misspelling naturally, but it isn’t. I can not login with that password neither after this has occurred. The dirty fix is to reset the users password via sudo su && passwd [username]

This is pretty weird and probably should be worrying.

Did anybody encounter such behavior? I can not think of any logical explanation other then a buggy password expiration setting (which I have not set up consciously) which might not prompt you for a new password. If such exists I’d be interested on how to adjust such a preference

1 Like

I have been using Manjaro for 5 years - never had the issue you describe.

It’s impossible to guess - but I am quite sure it is not a generic system issue - more likely a local issue.

Adding to the above - if it was the case - don’t you think the forum would be flooded with issues about it?

1 Like

Look into faillock and check if it’s been triggered somehow:

$ faillock

There have been sporadic reports in the past

• sometimes users triggered it themselves but failed to notice until faillock was mentioned
    • failed ssh logins (using password) count
  • sometimes fingerprint sensors interfere
  • I remember a case where a specific program triggered the locking, but cannot find the thread atm

edit: adjusted title as there is no “sudo user” and sudo requires current users password (unless explicitly configured another way)

1 Like

i have faced the same issue but i restart my laptop when it happens and then the password works. It also happens to me once every couple of weeks

1 Like

As a consequence of the issue at hand here faillock kicks in, but it is not the issue itself.