Pamac-qt broken dependency pamac-common < 9.6.0

I’m not a Manjaro developer so I hope using this section is okay, it seems like the place to report those things. I asked where to report broken packages on Discord but no one replied… since I’m seeing similar threads here I’ll post mine as well.

I tried installing the qt version of Pamac since I use KDE. pamac-qt fails to install due to a broken dependency in the packaging: It seems to want pamac-common 9.6.0 or less, however pamac-common is now at version 10.0.5. Official repositories only, AUR not enabled. Here is the log:

[mircea@linux-qz0r ~]$ sudo pacman -S pamac-qt
resolving dependencies...
warning: cannot resolve "pamac-common<9.6.0", a dependency of "pamac-qt"
:: The following package cannot be upgraded due to unresolvable dependencies:
      pamac-qt

:: Do you want to skip the above package for this upgrade? [y/N] 
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: unable to satisfy dependency 'pamac-common<9.6.0' required by pamac-qt
1 Like

I use KDE and stick to the flagship version of Pamac. Is there any particular reason you wanted to use pamac-qt? I don’t believe it’s been updated in over 7 months?

Post from November 1, 2020:

1 Like

I wasn’t aware of that. Just wanted to try it as it’s qt and that generally sits better with KDE. The original Pamac works fine… except it somehow forces a different window manager / theme (not kwin) which makes it look weird, admittedly that’s what I was hoping to resolve.

I believe because it’s running with root privileges it’s not reading your user’s theme config files. (I noticed the same thing too.)

I feel you about wanting native Qt apps under KDE, but in this day and age, the field is quite diverse with a mix of toolkits, most predominantly GTK and Qt. Out of the box, however, your Qt and GTK apps will adopt your KDE theme as closely as possible.

Pamac QT is still a Work In Progress. It’s not meant yet to replace classic GTK Pamac.