Pacman>6.1 dependency for yay installation

Hello together,

I am new to Manjaro and Linux and was lately trying to install yay as a pacman wrapper in order to install non core repository packages.

Now I ran into a problem, namely that makepkg -si requires at least pacman 6.1. However, pacman fails to install/update itself. Below I entered the terminal messages:

cd yay
~/yay/master makepkg -si                                                            
==> Making package: yay 12.3.5-1
==> Checking runtime dependencies...
==> Installing missing dependencies...
error: target not found: pacman>6.1
==> ERROR: 'pacman' failed to install missing dependencies.
==> Missing dependencies:
  -> pacman>6.1
==> Checking buildtime dependencies...
==> ERROR: Could not resolve all dependencies.

Thanks for your help in advance and have a nice day!

Kind regards,
Philipp

Don’t use the AUR with Stable branch.
Install packages available in repositories, from repositories, not the AUR or other external sources.

Also, to add to @omano, yay is in repo.

4 Likes

Why are you installing yay that way when it is available in the Manjaro repositories? All you need to do to install yay is run via the CLI pamac install yay, or you can install it via the Pamac GUI.

I just installed it on my system:

pamac install yay 
Preparing...
Synchronizing package databases...
Refreshing extra.db...                                                                                                                          
Refreshing AUR...                                                                                                                               

Choose optional dependencies for yay:
1:  doas: privilege elevation *[not required as I have sudo installed]*

Enter a selection (default=none): 

Resolving dependencies...
Checking inter-conflicts...

To install (1):
  yay  12.3.0-1    extra  3.2 MB

Total download size: 3.2 MB
Total installed size: 9.8 MB

Apply transaction ? [y/N] y