No option to select trusted UEFI in the bios

Hi, I am fairly new to the Linux environment. I installed Manjaro Linux KDE Plasma 20.2.1 in dual boot. After the installation, according to the tutorial I was watching, it showed to select a trusted UEFI file in the bios security tab. But when I looked in my bios, there is NO option like that.

My laptop is HP Pavilion 14
Processor: Intel i5-7200U
Ram: 8GB
dGPU: Nvidia Geforce 940MX

I saw some cases where the option was greyed out but in my case there is no option like that. Hence, by default I log into windows and I can’t use Manjaro.
WIndows is installed on an SSD while Manjaro is on a HDD partition ( Idk if this is important ).
Also, I selected to boot with proprietary drivers since my laptop had an Nvidia dgpu along with the Intel igpu.

This is the tutorial I was watching as this was fairly simple for a beginner.
https : // www youtube com/watch?v=PYqQ99tyxBA&t=550s

It would be really great if someone could help me identify the problem and what to do to use Manjaro.

In that tutorial after 7:54, instead of restarting, he checks the boot order where Manjaro is first. I also did the same and it was Manjaro for me too. I really don’t know what’s the problem.

Also, when I checked my Windows File Explorer, the 96GB partition where I installed Manjaro is now shown as a 3GB partition with 2.9 GB free (when opening This PC in windows 10). Is this normal ? Or is it due to some intallation error (I didn’t encounter any)

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance !!

Manjaroes do not support Secure Boot.

Following random guides found on the internet is probably going to cause issues - the guides is quickly outdated and often not applicable to any and all systems - at least you found that.

If you hear someone yell GRUB is a failure - it is not applicable to Manjaro - no secure boot support.

1 Like

I checked, secure boot was disabled before installing manjaro.