No app sound (though system sound) in XFCE in VMware

Hello,

I just installed Manjaro as a guest machine to VMware Workstation. I get system sound (e.g. the beep when you click the Manjaro power icon at bottom right) but no application sound (e.g. from VLC or Youtube on Firefox). How could I get application sound?

I am new to Manjaro and fairly new to Linux itself, and so don’t know what is relevant information. I will just list all the steps I took so far because they are not many. I’d be happy to provide any additional information necessary to solve the issue. Thank you very much.

Steps so far

1. Install manjaro-xfce-22.1.0-230421-linux61.iso as guest to VMware Workstation 17.0.2 pro running on Windows 11 pro.
  2. When the VM boots, notice the message: “The default sound device cannot be opened: A device ID has been used that is out of range for your system. Failed to connect virtual device sound.”
  3. Update Manjaro using sudo pacman -Syu (plus some preliminary commands for updating the mirror).
  4. Create and enable vmwaretools.service (so that open-vm-tools package would start with Manjaro).
  5. Start Manjaro > click speaker icon > Audio mixer… > see a popup named “Volume Control” > Configuration (tab) > Change Profile from “Analog Stereo Duplex” to “Analog Stereo Output”.
  6. Restart Manjaro > see no more the message “The default sound device cannot be opened…”.
  7. Start an app that plays sound (e.g. VLC, Firefox).
  8. Open “Volume Control” window > Output Devices (tab).
  9. See “ES1371/ES1371/ Creative Labs CT2518 (Audio PCI 64V/128/5200 / Creative CT4810/CT5803.CT5806 [Sound Blaster PCI]) Analog Stereo” is not muted.
  10. See also two bar graphs. The top one is fixed at 94%. The bottom one moves (grows and shrinks) with what would appear to be the volume of the video being played (in VLC or Firefox).