Need some help with Timeshift configuration

sorry to post a question that has already been discussed here.
but since I’m new to Linux, i still can’t wrap my head around the way the directories are placed and their meaning.
what i would like to achieve is to be able to restore the OS to a previous state in case of need and have my programs settings restored too.
I’ve read the manual in Timeshift – TeejeeTech and many more threads on other forums but couldn’t get a clear answer.
in the “settings/users” i understand that i need to check “include hidden items” next to /home/username,
but what about /root?in the developer’s screen shot he included every thing:

and then this is how his next screen shot looks like:

so I’m not sure what to do since that doesn’t seem to correspond to other explanations I’ve seen online like the fact that i need to leave the settings on default(apart from the “hidden items” under /home/username).

Full /root and hidden from /home/$USER/.** is a good setting, I use exactly the same since more than a year and it worked when needed perfectly fine for me.

2 Likes

Well I had a big issue recently when I stuffed a new SSD in the machine, formatted the old one and cleaned up one old hard drive… after restoring one ‘full’ Timeshift backup it complained about a restore hook - basically the boot was messed up. Also I want my system cleaner… so in the end I went with a 6 minute install, and a manual copy back from the Timeshift backup.

Today I had a strange issue, restored the timeshift and everything was superb…

So I go with Rsync, saved to sdc1, 3 dailies 3 weeklies and 1 monthly, plus 3 boots…

Now the problem is that, as it stands, Timeshift works well excluding root and including /home stuff.