Need help with permission issues

First off, I’m a noob with all this linux thing so please bear with me!

A few months ago I partitioned my 500GB HDD and installed Manjaro on the smaller partition, being Windows 10 on the largest using dual boot. I also have another HDD of 2TB where I store my personal files, etc.
However when using Manjaro I can copy files frome those drives but not paste or create files on them. So far I’ve tried chaning the ownership of the drives to root, and current user, no avail.

Any help would be appreciated!

Welcome to the forum! :beer:

Now, the first thing you need to know, is that GNU/Linux is a UNIX-style operating system, and in UNIX/POSIX, the file ownership and permissions are stored in the filesystem itself.

However, filesystems such as FAT-derivatives and NTFS do not support POSIX file ownership and permissions. This means that such permissions and ownership must be faked in the kernel’s virtual filesystem layer while the “alien” filesystem is mounted, and that they will not be preserved when the filesystem is unmounted again ─ e.g. when the system reboots.

The best way of going about this is to look into adding a record ─ i.e. a line, with space-separated fields ─ for each of those filesystems to /etc/fstab. You can then specify a default permissions mask that the kernel will fake for the entire “alien” filesystem, and a default ownership.

• See this link for the manual on /etc/fstab.
  • See this link for the available mount options per filesystem type.

You can edit /etc/fstab by way of nano. Open up a terminal window and issue the following command…

sudo nano /etc/fstab

You will be prompted for your password. You can then edit the file, and when you’re done, press Ctrl+O to save the file. You will be prompted for a filename, but if you just press Enter, it’ll overwrite the file. Then you exit the editor again with Ctrl+X.

Hope this helps. :wink:

Thank you for your response. I’ll look into it and we’ll see how it goes!