My terminal keeps dropping, make it stop

Check it, I’m setting up some keyboard shortcuts (I’m brand new to computers btw) and I want to key up a terminal but not the beaster that keeps dropping down. I want a normal window so I tried changing the default terminal to Alacritty. Big mistake. That terminal is ugly and has no settings to make it pretty.
So how can I disable this drop down, yo?

See: apps:xfce4-terminal:dropdown [Xfce Docs]

1 Like

Forgive me if I’ve missed the answer. I am unable to proceed. This doc provides details on everything but disabling the drop down feature.
Another option is to just create a key command that opens a window terminal and undo the key command for the drop down terminal, but it seems equally obstinant to this alternative.

I didn’t know xfce4-terminal provides a dropdown feature.

How obstinate? Shouldn’t it be a matter of setting a shortcut for xfce4-terminal ?

There are also settings for defining your preferred terminal.
https://docs.xfce.org/xfce/exo/preferred-applications#utilities

1 Like

Disabling what? It’s not enabled by default. Sounds like you created a keyboard shortcut to xfce4-terminal --drop-down. Remove it. If it’s currently running, you’ll see a tray icon. Right-click and close it.

1 Like

A visual solution to your problem can be found in the Xfce Edition video on the Manjaro download page. You should have a look at the video. Fast forward to 18:45 min.

Go to Settings > Keyboard > Application Shortcuts, scroll down to xfce4-terminal --drop-down and change the corresponding shortcut as shown in the video by removing --drop-down. Don’t forget to save.

2 Likes