Moving Swap to SSD?

So, I’m new to running linux on ARM systems, but have been running linux on x86 workstations and servers for ~20 years.

So, it came as some surprise to see the swap filesystem being set up on a ramdisk… But, understanding that microSD cards don’t have the IO performance really needed for a swap partition, it makes sense.

But, I’ve just ordered in (and received) a large (1TB) SSD, and the USB cable needed to hook it up to my Pi 400.

Is there any issue moving to a swap partition on an SSD, and removing the ramdisk swap? My plan is to:

1. dd the current image from my microSD card to the SSD. (On my laptop.)
  2. Use gparted to (a) extend the root partition, and (b) create a swap partition.
  3. Mount the root parition and add the swap filesystem to the fstab.
  4. Unmount the SSD and move it over to tthe Pi and boot it.
  5. Verify the new swap partition mounted.
  6. Disable the zswap-arm service.
  7. Reboot.

So, thiscomes down to two questions:

1. As asked earlier: is moving the swap to the SSD a good idea? Or are there likely to be issues?
  2. Does the procedure above look like a good plan?

Thanks for any feedback.

George

yes you can replace the sd card complete by an ssd/hdd via usb.

search for “raspberry boot usb”
take care that there are some differences between raspi 3 and 4 but the general procedure is the same. you create the installation image at a sd and the usb-disc. install first via sd card. create the " program_usb_boot_mode" parameter after installation at the sd card, reboot and install again from usb. shutdown, disconnect the sd card and reboot full via usb.

Welcome to the world of ARM + SBC! :slight_smile:

If you are old enough, you may recall working on a PC with floppy drives… the good ol’ DOS floppy in drive A. Sure, you can add a hard drive/SSD but the “boot floppy” (SD) will be your savior.