Moving from 1TB SSD to 512Gb NVME

Good Morning All,

I’m back on Manjaro and having a much better experience than last time. As a matter of fact - I’m having a great experience to be honest.

I installed a 512Gb NVME on my system, and Manjaro is currently setup on a 2.5" 1TB Samsung Evo. My entire installation including all of my Steam games uses only 261Gb…and the NVME is much, much faster…

Is there a way - outside of a clean install to this new drive…a way to simply clone my existing installation, to the new (but smaller) NVME drive? Clonezilla won’t allow for this because the target partition is smaller than the 1TB partition on my Evo.

If not - I’ll do a clean install…Just hoping for something a tad simpler.

I appreciate any advice given. PS - I am no noob. Been on linux since 2004 and I am a developer (for a living).

Thanks!

Sincerely and respectfully,

Dave

Would something like timeshift or deja vous work?

I’d wager that the gaming (maybe overall?) performance of moving from SSD to NVME is not so noticeable as moving from a HDD to an SSD.

Short answer: No

I see no easy way to do it at your situation. If you want to clone anyway, it can get a bit complicated, but it should be fast.

With the Manjaro installation media, you can create partitions on your destination drive, mount source and destination, copy with rsync and finally chroot to destination and modify fstab and grub-install/update-grub.

Sounds harder than it actually is… :smile:

Thank you for the input…I failed to mention (getting old sure sucks)…that I’m moving from ext4 to xfs (my traditional FS of choice)…Manjaro has become my daily driver after using it for > 6 weeks with no issues. It’s main task is C++ and KVM systems from my clients…it’s secondady job is to allow me to unwind at the end of the day with a game.

So I’ll just reinstall - It’s a separate drive so at no time is the operations of my system in jeopardy…

THANK YOU!

Dave

1 Like