Module Signatures Confussion

As part of general security tips for Linux I had thought I had understood that normally most modules were downloaded with signatures and that sometimes it was wise to check the ones that weren’t ‘signed’?

My understanding was that some like NVIDIA and othe more propriety modules were normal to not have signatures. The output command I found and thought I had understood what it was doing seems to output rather a lot of familiar looking packages to do with system things ip_tables, ext4 etc and v4l2loopback for the virtual OBS camera; but there seems to me to be a rather a lot of them. So either I somehow have the command wrong or perhaps I have missunderstood which packages are ‘normal’ to not have signatures or something? I’m sure there’s proberly some better vocabulary somewhere or something more that I’m only beginning to understand possibly?

Any clarrifications/help would be muchly appreciated.

for mod in $(lsmod | tail -n +2 | cut -d' ' -f1); do modinfo ${mod} | grep -q "signature" || echo; echo "no signature for module: ${mod}"