Manjaro only starting in emergency mode (dual boot, "dependency failed for /home")

Hey all,
I am a newbie more or less. But have been having lots of fun with manjaro, which I managed to dual boot on a windows 10 asus laptop many months ago.
The thing is, I can’t boot into manjaro after installing the latest kernel update.

I’ve tried a few commands to see what’s up, but seeing as I am a mindless newbie, I don’t see what to do based on that. I can’t post images nor links, so I cant really share what it all looks like.

I’ve also tried to use manjaro-chroot -a from a boot usb, but that didn’t go well at all.

Any idea what to do? how to fix that?

not enough information :wink:
It could be that a filesystem check will remedy the situation.

• boot your USB system
  • know which filesystem is on which partition
    lsblk -f
    or
    sudo blkid
    should help
  • run
    e2fsck -v /dev/sdxX
    on your home partition - and on the other ext4 partitions as well, for good measure and while you are at it
  • reboot and see whether that helped
    If e2sfck found and fixed errors then that was the likely reason.
1 Like

Thank you, I’ll make a windows image just in case ad will try out everything you’ve mentioned + report back ASAP. :slight_smile: appreciate your help.

Windows will not be affected by this - it’s just a filesystem check that will not even run on a windows partition, even if you accidentally tried.

what did you get on this message ?
you can repair for USB live manjaro

Did it still just in case for the future.

Used the Konsole in the usb system. Did e2fsck on a ext4 partition, and got this:

sudo e2fsck -v /dev/sda4

/dev/sda4 contains a file system with errors, check forced.
Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks, and sizes
Inode 787409 seems to contain garbage. Clear?

the other ext4 seems alright: /dev/sda5: clean, 422756/2564096 files, 6983353/10240000 blocks

Rebooted, still emergency mode. Says “failed to start system5…
Dependency failed for /home