Manjaro Noob Question

Greetings:
I am brand new to Arch or Manjaro and currently of course on the latter. I was not sure where to properly post this question snd I have been knocking my head against the wall trying to figure out how to copy my (dot) files and directories (eg. .config (directory) .zshrc (file)) to a backup directory without the dot prepended to the names (so .config becomes config on my backup) also how to reverse this. I am attempting to do this in the terminal (I am using Kitty) and want to either batch rename them or do it as they are copied. I can get them copied as they are to the target directory, but I seem to be failing on the renaming or unhiding the copied files in the DESTINATION directory. I would appeciate any help doing this as I am doing it to backup the files without compressing them for moving them to other machines and as a backup in case my daily driver machine fails!

Thsnks in advance for any help. Been Googling solutions for about three hours now and seems I USED to know how to do that. Perhaps my regex is real rusty.

Hope you guys can help!

Regards,
Michael

Why?
That would make it harder to restore those files since you’ll then need to rename them back…

:face_with_raised_eyebrow:

request in web ?

linux manage dot file

exists some apps

Thanks all. Just tarred the backup directory and that solved the problem. Thanks for the input. On a different topic, is there a good place to find wallpapers on the repos? Thanks for all help and glad to be back on Linux! Been a couple of years since I had it on my desktop.

Thanks again for the help. I think moving the tar file is easier as maycne suggested about the extra work involved in renaming the files twice.

There are several wallpaper packages in the repos. :arrow_down:

[nx-74205:/dev/pts/3][/home/aragorn]
[08:41:55][aragorn] > pamac search wallpaper