Manjaro Help with File Explorer reopening closed folders on new open

So this is has been a thing for a while and lately I have been cleaning out files on the computer. Anyway, Everytime I open a folder, it shows all the previous folders I had open unless I close them one by one. There has to be a way to change this right? Any help would be great. I have been using Manjaro for almost 2 years and this is like my “spring cleaning” time for my pc. Backing up the computer etc… I was gonna reinstall but I dont even think that would fix the issue. The PC runs great there really isnt a need to reformat. I just feel like its a setting set up by default somewhere that I can find.

Welcome to the forum!

It took me quite a while to figure out what you meant by that ─ you’re not exactly explaining things well ─ but I gather that you’re talking about the left-hand pane of the Dolphin file manager ─ which is not called “File Explorer”, by the way; you’re not in Microsoft Windows anymore, Toto ─ and the expanded directories (folders) versus collapsed directories (folders).

The collapsed ones have a “+” in front of them, and the expanded ones have a “-” in front of them. That’s what you’re talking about, right?

Well, in Plasma 4 there used to be a menu option ─ and an associated keyboard shortcut ─ to either expand or collapse the folder tree, but ever since Plasma 5, this option has no longer been available.

Believe me, I’d love for it to return too, because I like seeing all of my directories (folders) expanded, and I hate having to do it manually per each individual directory when I start up Dolphin (which I have constantly open with multiple tabs on a dedicated virtual desktop).

I’m afraid the best you can do is file a feature request at KDE via their bug report site, bugs.kde.org.