Manjaro dist upgrade

Hi :slight_smile:

I’m new to Linux, and my first os Manjaro KDE Plasma 20.2. - I’m really like it!

But maybe I have a stupid question! When there is a small or major os-release, will I need to format my pc to install it? Or are there some smart ways to upgrade the os??

Please explain the is a noob-friendly way

Regards

Thomas

No. Manjaro is a rolling distro. It makes no sense to install the whole OS again for a “major release”, which is simply releasing a new iso with newer packages.

The package manager will remind you when there are updates available. If you want to check and upgrade your system manually, you can run this command in terminal:

sudo pacman -Syyu
2 Likes

Hi @SamLukeYes :slight_smile:

Thanks for your answer :slight_smile: - It makes sense for me.

Merry Chrismas to you :robot:

2 Likes

Just wanted to add a few items.

Follow the Announcements in this forum, specifically Stable and Releases. You can view them in this forum or as RSS Feeds. I see you are using KDE. The KDE application will be Akregator. An annoucement post will not only inform you that something new is available, but it will let you know if there are any manual actions you might need to take or of any problems that users might be having. As @SamLukeYes described, Manjaro is a Rolling Release verses a Fixed Release model of distributing software.

RSS Links:

Definitely take advantage of the search feature of this forum. This forum was re-created earlier this year and previous posts were archived. Simply take this url and add archived to the front of it (i.e., https://archived.forum.manjaro.org/). This archived forum can also be searched.