Manjaro cinnamon desktop resets to default after reboot

Hi all,

I’ve installed Cinnamon community edition on Manjaro 20.2 and I’m loving it. In installed the Cinnamon DE using the instructions on the Manjaro Wiki. For some reason though, my desktop background keeps reverting to the default community edition background. If I go to change desktop background, go to settings, and change the picture aspect to stretch, my chosen desktop pops back up. This is strange because it means that I have succesfully set the background but for some reason whenever I log in I need to select ‘stretched’ again for it to show up. Is there some sort of permission issue here? Could it be some issue in the LightDM config when I installed the DM.

I’m a complete noob here so any help would be much appreciated. This is a small pet peeve but I’d love to get it fixed.

Thanks

Greetings. I don’t fully understand, you installed Cinnamon through Manjaro Cinnamon iso? Or you installed above another DE, let’s say Gnome, via terminal/Pamac?

Hi,

So I installed the default xfce edition from an iso. Then I installed cinnamon using the terminal, using the instructions available here.

I didn’t create a new user because I don’t plan to use the xfce desktop. Thanks.

Manjaro has additional specific Cinnamon packages, for customizing the DE. I dunno if it’s installed automatically as dependencies or if they have to be installed by yourself.

But frankly, if you don’t want XFCE, just save your data somewhere and reinstall Manjaro directly with Cinnamon iso. Because your system has both XFCE and Cinnamon configs/dependencies.

@watdryhope two questions;

When you say you “chosen desktop”, you are referring to your wallpaper correct?

Also, are you using the installed wallpapers or are you using your own, if so where are you storing your wallpapers?