Kernel panic when running updates

Hello everyone,

Running kernel 5.8…

I was running the latest update when my network failed in the middle of it. After that, I started having random kernel panics, so I decided to boot in the command line and run the update by hand.

Now, everytime that I try to update the system, I get an error:

Kernel panic - not syncing: Fatal exception at interrupt

at the end of a lot of low-level messages.

The error happens at “random” when doing the full update, meaning that it is not at a particular package.

Can anyone please help? I would like to avoid reinstalling the system from a Live USB.

Thank you!

Hello,

Please try the same procedure while in 5.4 kernel (for instance) because is a LTS kernel.
If you get the same, then i suggest to check the CPU, could be a hardware failure.

1 Like

Can you post the hardware info ?

Thank you for replying. I am a bit new with this low-level troubleshooting so please be patient with me.

Yes, the problem happens with 5.4-LTS as well. I checked the memory and the hard disk suspecting the hardware error, it seems they are both OK. I also checked with/without battery and the problem is still there.

Suspecting hardware, I booted onto Windows and checked everything from there. Windows seems to behave fine (but I know it is a different partition).

After the kernel panic, I removed / reinstalled kernel 5.4, but didn’t help.

But I think it is important, the only way to reproduce the kernel panic is running pacman/pamac and updating packages.

Is there an easy way to copy from command line to another computer? I am stuck in the command line.

My hardware info (is there any particular output that would be helpful?):

Samsung RF711
Quad Core Intel Core i7-2630QM
Chipset: Intel Corporation 6 Series / C200 Series
Kernel: 5.8.3-2-MANJARO x86_64
Nvidia GeForce 540M
Mem: 1951.4/7969.6
HD 931.51 GB

Thanks again,