Is Manjaro the right distro for a production desktop?

Actually, the title says it all. I have run Manjaro before. Being a teacher i am dependent on flawless functioning of my desktop in conjunction with a digital blackboard and here in lies the rub: many times after an update of the nvidia drivers the black board refuses reception and the hdmi connnection crashes. I was forced to revert back to another distro which i shall not name here.
I would love to work solely with Manjaro since there is a lot to like.
Curious what your opinion is in this matter.

Tia

Frank

1 Like

Yes, it is. Use the stable branch, don’t use Nvidia, update when they are available, and know your way around merging pacnew files.

And read and follow the stable announcement threads.

3 Likes

Nvidia is hard to avoid - nontheless it is possible - and for a stable predictable Linux system - I recommend to avoid Nvidia.

There is no shame in that - a good craftsman uses the best tool for the job - whether it is his favorite tool or not.

Some Linux is simply created for stability e.g. Red Hat Entreprise Linux - and there is a trick to get Red Hat free of charge - sign up for developer account and use that to register your RHEL.

My personal, strong opinion
After years using Manjaro as my primary system I have found that following unstable branch provides a much more stable experience.

That is - in my opinion - because the unstable branch is updated albeit a faster pace, the updates does not come in one big chunk, and therefore there it is less likely to introduce a major cataclysmic failure.

4 Likes

Well now, I think if you ask that same question over at the Ubuntu forums, you’ll get pretty much the same answer. And Debian. And Garuda. And Redhat.

It depends on you, on your situation, on your technical knowledge. On you. No one else.

Personally I found Manjaro to be the best out there. It’s because of Manjaro that I finally ditched Windoze.

3 Likes