Install Brother printer

I am new in Manjaro but managed to discover the first specificities already. I like very much this distribution and would like to adopt it completely (coming from debian).

I am still blocked with the scanner/printer Brother DCP-1610W (1612 in fact) and the card reader, the rest is really esay and clear.

For the printer, I did first install the drivers and scan drive (brscan4) with AUR.

The printer is well detected using the scan function, printer in parameter and cups trough the browser (because the classical method I did know did not work) but I cannot print or scan anything???

I am really stuck. Can you help me?

This is not too clear to me. Is CUPS installed and active?
please post results of : systemctl status cups.service

Is this driver from the AUR installed? AUR (en) - brother-dcp1610w
Have you added the printer from localhost:631 in browser if CUPS is working?

Just in case; CUPS needed manual intervention recently. This is how it went, in terminal:

sudo systemctl disable --now org.cups.cupsd.socket
sudo systemctl disable --now org.cups.cupsd.service
sudo systemctl disable --now org.cups.cupsd.path
sudo systemctl enable --now cups.service
sudo systemctl enable --now cups.socket
sudo systemctl enable --now cups.path 

This is the output.
cups.service - CUPS Scheduler
Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/cups.service; enabled; vendor pres>
Active: active (running) since Thu 2021-07-08 16:08:21 CEST; 1h 2min ago
TriggeredBy: ● cups.path
● cups.socket
Docs: man:cupsd(8)
Main PID: 589 (cupsd)
Tasks: 1 (limit: 11903)
Memory: 6.5M
CPU: 19ms
CGroup: /system.slice/cups.service
└─589 /usr/bin/cupsd -l

And YES, I did install the driver (this was my first action in fact)
I will now look at the rest of your suggestion/question on CUPS (I was’nt familiar with CUPS but as the driver was not giving the result I discovered the CUPS option that runs
in parallel)