Implications of disabling secure boot

Implications of disabling secure boot

Hi, I am curious about the implications of disabling secure boot on a dual boot Manjaro/Windows.Since Manjaro is not supporting secure boot, i was wondering if i am leaving my computer vulnerable to rootkits. As i understand the secure boot protects my computer against rootkit execution outside of the os at a deeper level wich may be hard to detect from the os (I may be wrong here).

Should i be concern about it?

I am aware there is a way to do it with shim package from the aur repo, which i am not willing to use since i am not experienced enough to inspect the package files.

Since i still need Windows for various reasons, should i just look for a distro that supports secure boot: Debian, Ubuntu, Fedora?

That’s one way…

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Unified_Extensible_Firmware_Interface/Secure_Boot

The installed files come from Fedora…

TBH…if you’re not willing to put in the time it will require for you to set up your system, then yes, a different distro that does it for you would be your better choice.

Follow this guide in order to have Secure Boot in Manjaro:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Sakaki/Sakaki's_EFI_Install_Guide/Configuring_Secure_Boot

You might want to combine it with AUR’s sbupdate tool, to make the whole process of updating and signing kernels and bootloaders easier.

I am not willing to get this package from the aur for various reasons.

The fact that the package can change maintainers any time without warning and possibly shift to a malicious maintainer makes me unable to trust the aur for that kind of packages. (as arch stated it happened before). I am not willing to start signing package every time i update a kernel or when virtual box update (especially on a rolling distro) kinda a big waste of time. Over configuring is why i left Arch in the first place. The main reason i create this post is to know the implications of disabling it.