I'm having trouble opening Steam and I can't download it at all

I’ve recently installed manjaro on my laptop, but I’m totally new to linux and coding in general (i just know how to use a computer)

I tried to run the command steam in the terminal and this is the result i get

steam.sh[6198]: Running Steam on manjarolinux 21.2pre1 64-bit
steam.sh[6198]: STEAM_RUNTIME is enabled automatically
steam.sh[6198]: internal error: /home/maxime/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/steam-runtime/setup.sh is missing, this runtime is invalid or corrupted

(Double clicking on the shortcut called “Steam (Runtime)” just doesn’t do anything)

How can I fix this ?
Is there a way to re download Steam in its entirety ? I know that .deb files can’t be executed on manjaro but the Steam page only provides a .deb file

Don’t download packages from websites on an Arch-based distro.

You should always check our repo first → check AUR [Manjaro Wiki, Arch Wiki] → Build from source if possible → Use Flatpak/Snap → Download the .deb from website and use debtap

You can use pamac, your package manage that is already installed to uninstall Steam and reinstall Steam. It has a GUI and CLI application on your computer.

I personally don’t use pamac, so I don’t know the CLI commands for it. But you can uninstall steam and reinstall steam using pacman in the terminal as well:

sudo pacman -Rns steam-manjaro
sudo pacman -Syu steam-manjaro

If steam-manjaro doesn’t work for some reason, you can try installing steam-native instead.

If you want to read more about pamac and pacman package managers:

1 Like

run steam --reset from terminal?

Thanks for the replies !

I’ve done these commands, and the terminal says it is installed, but i still get the exact same error

But something weird is happening, the command steam gets me this error, but the command steam-manjaro is not recognized by my computer

[maxime@LATITUDEE5450 ~]$ steam-manjaro
bash: steam-manjaro : commande introuvable