I3 on Raspberry Pi 4 with dual monitors

Hello! New forum user here, looking for a little guidance and hoping someone here might have some.

I have a 4GB Raspberry Pi 4 that I have installed Manjaro i3 20.08 on a standard SD card. Everything is working great but I am relatively new to the i3wm. I have two monitors I would like to use with the Pi (one is hooked up with a standard HDMI cable and the other is using a HDMI to DVI converter cable). They are different model monitors but both support a maximum resolution of 1080p.

Now on to my main question, with the Pi and i3 both monitors are working however the screen image is simply being mirrored. I would like to have the monitors be extended. I have tried using the “xrandr” utility to modify the displays but to me it seems that it is not detecting the monitors or displays correctly. It only outputs the following:

xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 1920 x 1080, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 1920 x 1080
default connected 1920x1080+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1920x1080      0.00*

I have done my best to find a cause for this but nothing I have found really fits. I can provide any other configuration I have that might help troubleshoot this. My install is pretty much fresh out of the box. I feel like I am missing something simple.

1 Like

You can install a small tool such as arandr that allows you to create those configurations in a graphical way and save them for later use.

EDIT: also note that i3 and other Tiling window Managers usually extend the workspace to the different screens - noticeable by the different workspace numbers in the status bar. Each workspace can be filled with applications individually by switching to it (ALT+workspace no.) and run an application on it (ALT+d for application menu)