[HowTo] Make an Improvised GUI for Common Pipewire Settings in XFCE

Hi, I’m a musician and do a all my recording and production in linux, and with my recent adoption of Pipewire, I’ve found it a little odd that there’s not a GUI for system-wide functions (yes I know you can control things through jack applications however I’m trying to avoid having to use Qtjackctrl or Cadence).

Often times while working on projects, due to system loads or project file needs, we often need to quickly set system wide sample rates or buffer sizes (lower buffer sizes for direct software monitoring, and higher buffers for mixing or mastering high track counts and plugin loads for example).

While it’s kind of obvious, I figured I’d share the launcher I made that is almost exactly what I’d expect from a real GUI system tray utility for Pipewire.

Screenshot_2021-12-10_17-15-42

I’ve zipped a version of the folder that the panel creates and uploaded it to IPFS for sharing:
https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUQ6pXU6VKKPoxEwKuikxDbAQMxa2uE5Uff7twquyh9vt?filename=xfcepipewirecontrolgui.zip

steps to install (and if you have an easier way of doing this feel free to chime in):

1. Download the zip file, unzip it somewhere…
  2. In your Home folder find /.config/xfce4/panel/ (keep this folder open for now)
  3. Create a new panel launcher (you can add something to it as it might help find it later)
  4. Go back to the /.config/xfce4/panel/ and find the folder for the launcher you just made
  5. Copy and Paste the contents of the zip file from earlier into that folder.
  6. You’ll probably need to go into the XFCE panel edit to order the different items to make sense for your layout and taste.
  7. All the launchers commands are pretty straight forward and I referenced the pipewire wiki for them.