How to run fSpy? it only appears the build button

I searched on the apps manager and installed the first one, but after done, it appears with the build or remove buttons, i’ve clicked the build and after finishes, look for fSpy but can’t find it, so, i’m not sure if it installed it correctly (i’m not a programmer :S)

It’s not meant to be used as a standalone application. You need to use it with another application, such as blender — there’s the blender-plugin-fspy package for that in the AUR.

1 Like

I’m sorry but it is a standalone app, and it has an addon to import the files to blender, but the first step is in the app, look: https://fspy.io/

Well, if it is a standalone app and it has a graphical user interface, then try launching it from a terminal window. If it works, then you can always create a .desktop file for it yourself and choose an icon for it.

I’m afraid that it doesn’t appear when i put this on the terminal:
ls -la /usr/share/applications

Also looked here manually in the folders and nothing:
/usr/share
/usr/share/Applictions

But then, i looked for fSpy in /usr and bingo! it appeared a folder but inside lib:
/usr/lib/fspy

What do i do with that? (i’m also newby in Linux and Manjaro) :S

Try starting it as follows… :arrow_down:

/usr/lib/fspy

The binary is fspy in that folder /usr/lib/fspy/fspy

A desktop file don’t exist for this, however in the package there is shell script that do

#!/bin/bash

exec /usr/lib/fspy/fspy

So you can simply type fspy from terminal

1 Like

Only if the shell script resides in a directory that’s in his $PATH. :wink:

OP: If the script does not reside in a directory of your $PATH, copy it to ~/.local/bin and make sure it has execute permission.

1 Like

It is installed in /usr/bin

1 Like

Another option you might want to consider is to use the AppImage that they offer.

:S it didn’t started it :S just changed to that directory i think: