When starting, Manjaro shows some errors and then loads desktop. Keyboard and mouse not working so I am stuck

Thanks for any help. Beginner here so please be patient.

I was updating some packages and after a restart Manjaro started booting with an error message reading:

[FAILED] failed to start CUPS Scheduler
[FAILED] failed to start accounts service

After some time Manjaro loads into my desktop but mouse and keyboard are disabled.

Notes:

– Mouse and Keyboard work in BIOS and GRUB menu
– After reading some support entries I tried by pressing Alt + F2 to login manually and run some pacman database sync. The issue is that while I am typing the commands linux loads the desktop.
– When getting stuck in the i3 desktop I can see the NVIDIA text at the bottom.
– I have tried loading with these kernels: 6.1.33 / 5.15.12 / 5.10.174

Any ideas how to proceed?

Thanks for any help in advance.

That is odd.

Do you mean that when you reach the login screen for manjaro, you press alt+f2 and after logging into the new tty with your username and pass, the desktop suddenly loads?

My user logs in automatically without arriving to the login/pass screen. In this instance it arrives with keyboard and mouse locked. However, after the error shows up when booting I press Alt + F2, I get a console login/pass prompt and then I have access to the console ( keyboard works here) . Then after a few seconds it launches automatically the desktop,

systemctl status accounts-daemon
systemctl status cups

Maybe just look at all failed things:

systemctl --failed

You may also use history to view previous commands … or to specifically look at package exchanges you could use something like

tail -n100 /var/log/pacman.log

Oh, wait, you typed alt+f2, not ctrl+alt+f2, I misread that and I got unlucky when thinking.

I’m not even sure what alt+f2 is supposed to do default, on my computer (KDE plasma) it opens the kwin search manager.