How to install Brother MFC Linux Driver install tool

I have just downloaded the Brother MFC-L6900DW Linux Driver Install Tool. It comes in a Linux rpm and debian version (both files seem to be identical, downloading gets you linux-brprinter-installer-2.2.1-1, a 24.1kB file).
What do I do next?
Double-clicking the file shows me the program in Ark.
I am brand new to linux, so how do I install the "Driver install tool"?
TIA

You are probably better off looking for a driver in AUR.

=> yay -Ss L6900DW
aur/brother-mfcl6900dw-lpr-bin 3.2.0-1 (+0 0.00%) 
    LPR driver for Brother MFC-L6900DW printer
aur/brother-mfcl6900dw-cups-bin 3.2.0-1 (+0 0.00%) 
    CUPS wrapper for Brother MFC-L6900DW printer

You can install with

sudo yay -Sy package-name

Others might have better advice. :man_shrugging:

Please dont use yay like that.
First, you dont need sudo.
Second, it seems you are updating the package database without upgrading, while installing an AUR package. This would be considered a partial upgrade.

you can do yay package and just follow the prompts.
or yay -S package to install it directly.
Generally you should make sure you are up to date before installing AUR packages so you could first
sudo pacman -Syu
Or you could do what I think you intended:
yay -Syu package
which will update database if necessary, update packages if necessary, then install the AUR package.

3 Likes

Have a look here>

Thanks for the prompt responses.
I was able to figure out that AUR stands for archlinux user depository and I found the 2 files that @flibby.jibbit mentioned.
How do I download the actual files?
Clicking on the file links there is a Git Clone URL, Package Base bin file, an Upstream URL, then sources at Brother, then Package Actions including View PKGBuild/View Changes, Download snapshot, ...
I clicked all those links and nothing downloaded in Firefox or Chromium.