How to edit Grub menu labels?

Hello everyone.

I need to know how to change the Grub menu entry labels. I have Win 10, Manjaro KDE and I will be installing another version of Manjaro (haven’t decided yet). I would like it to change the labels to say:
Manjaro KDE
Win 10 Pro
Manjaro XFCE

If there is some documentation I should read please include that as well. I’m still learning linux and manjaro. Thanks.

In my opinion, the best way to do this is to edit the scripts in /etc/grub.d/. If you edit the 30_os-prober script, you can change how the detected operating systems from os-prober are displayed; 10_linux is the script that you can edit to change the display name for the operating system that you are using GRUB from. Alternatively, you can use the 40_custom script to write custom entries.

This will require some knowledge of shell scripting, but these scripts will then continue to correctly create your desired entries after kernel updates. Always backup before doing this type of editing, and do not edit all the files at once (i.e. make sure you haven’t made any mistakes before moving on to the next one).

I don’t understand how the scripts work in order to change the menu labels.

we can change /etc/lsb-release, key DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION, os-prober use this key

In my second manjaro, i use a pacman hook for next update

/etc/pacman.d/hooks/lsb-release.hook

[Trigger]
Operation = Install
Operation = Upgrade
Type = File
Target = etc/lsb-release

[Action]
Description = lsb-release change grub description
When = PostTransaction
Exec = /usr/bin/sed -i 's/^DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION.*/DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Manjaro Cinnamon"/' /etc/lsb-release

Does the /etc/lsb-release file get changed with system updates/upgrades and/or switching of the kernel? Also, the “/etc/pacman.d/hooks/” folder does not exist. I’m on Manjaro KDE 22.0.0.

It’s at us to create this /etc/pacman.d/hooks/” directory (and file)

This hook change /etc/lsb-release content only when this file is updated by pacman