How does one move a directory from a separate partition to the root partition?

Hi all!

How might one move a directory (e.g. /usr, /var) installed in a partition separate from the root partition…to the root partition?

My first inclination is to use a live bootable to simply transfer the contents of the partitions containing the target directories to the root partition, however, I’m unsure as to whether the OS would recognize and mount the directories in their new location. Would this be a viable option?

For context, I installed my XFCE system’s root (20 GiB), /var (15 GiB), and /usr (350 GiB) directories in separate partitions (appears to have been a mistake). I now have managed to fill my /var partition and cannot install certain software nor update existing software. To simply my setup and minimize the risk of future conflicts, I’ve decided to merge each under the root directory.

Thank you so much for your time. I’m quite new to using Linux as my primary OS, and am so glad I switched, however, as one might expect, I’ve had a lot to learn and it appears as though this is such a specialty issue that I can’t find anything specific enough to help.

Do you have enough space in your current root partition to hold all the contents of /, /var, and /usr?
If not, then it’ll be a bit more complicated that “simply” move the folders.

1 Like

I would do just as you wrote yourself.

Since you already have your /var on a separate partition, /var in root is just the mounting point for that partition. I would boot from a different medium (e.g. USB live environment), copy the contents of the var-partition somewhere else. Then edit partitions if needed, copy stuff from old var-partition to new location and edit the system’s fstab to now mount the new var-location in /var.

You could also try to just resize the partitions you already have - e.g. giving away some space in /usr in favour to increase the size of the var-partition.